Salmestone Grange is an exclusive 14th Century Venue catering for all your Special Occasions, Celebrations and Weddings.
The Grange also boasts a unique Chapel which was consecrated in 1326 and is registered for the Solemnisation of Marriages.
Our relaxed atmosphere and historic surroundings are also a perfect setting for Baptism and Funeral Receptions, Business Seminars, Guided Tours and Teas and a Sunday Lunch with family and friends.
Salmestone Grange is one of the best preserved and most interesting examples of monastic granges in Europe. Set in beautiful, tranquil surroundings to the west of Margate in Kent, Salmestone Grange is steeped in history and is one of the area's oldest inhabited buildings.
We have 2 luxurious self catering apartments which are set in the tranquil surroundings of Salmestone Grange.
The design has captured the "modern meets Medieval" experience that makes a stay here unique.
A Sunday Lunch at Salmestone Grange is the best way to celebrate a special occasion or relax with family and friends.
The Four course lunch followed by tea or coffee & bon bons £24 per guest.
Please call 01843 231161 for availability.
Enjoy an evening of entertainment and feasting in a superb medieval setting with Serving Wenches, a Jester and live music.
For a full medieval flavour, why not step back in time and dress for the occasion?
50% Reduction on the Venue Hire Charge Book NOW for a Wedding Reception to be held here before -
1st July 2018 and receive a discount on your venue hire fee, if booked now.
Call 01843 231161 for more information and to arrange a viewing with one of our Wedding Co-ordinators.
Between 1290 and 1400 Salmestone Grange served as a rural 'retreat' for the abbot and monks of St. Augustine's Abbey at Canterbury
The history of St. Augustine's Abbey came to an abrupt end with it's closure in 1538 and the Thanet estates, including Salmestone Grange, passed into the hands of the Crown, and then, in 1559, to the Dean and Chapter of Canterbury, who kept them until 1886.
In 1936 the then owner, Major H.S. Hatfield, presented the house, chapel and surrounding land to the modern Benedictine Abbey of St. Augustine at Ramsgate, who began restoration of the buildings.
In 1950 the Grange was taken over by the Canonesses of St. Augustine, who in turn sold it to the present owner.